my last few days in canada

My last few days in Canada have been amazing! Unfortunately I had to say farewell to my parents, brother, 2 puppies and the lil rat Benji 🙂 It was really sad, I won’t be seeing them for 6 months unless they come out my direction over Easter holidays. After being dropped off in Aurora, I headed back to London on Wednesday with Tina, and have been busy until the day I left. On Wednesday when I arrived, Tina and I, unpacked, hungout a bit and then had the boys over for a movie night. These are the kind of nights I will miss the most. I can’t emphasize enough how I have the best friends in the entire world. 

Thursday – I met with my subletter who will be filling my shoes with my lovely roomies for the semester! Her name is Dana, and she is an exchange student from New Zealand, and I feel she is really going to love it here. She has already blended in with all my friends quite well, and will definately have the experience of a lifetime. 

Friday/Saturday – Friday night we went downtown to Jacks were I was able to say bye to alot of my really good friends. Saturday night we started our evening super early at 5pm. Headed to ceeps around 9, and it was completely empty. A tray of beer, thanks to Momma Abes, and the bar was starting to pick up. Everyone was there, it was such a nice reunion! A few tears were shed, but all in all I was able to hold it together for the majority of the night. Things got a little wild when we headed home that night. Hayley and I made a few hand-wiches (peanut butter and chocolate sauce sandwiches without the use of a knife to spread…), the occasional 4 pizza pockets, some nachoes with tomato sauce, and who knows what else us raccoons scravenged that evening. After our eventful food eating excursion I decided to sleep on the couch. Falling asleep first at 282 Huron has proved to NOT be a good decision. I was pleasantly awoken in the morning wiht a mustache and other lovely objects drawn on my face. Thanks guys!

Sunday – Sunday was my last full day in London until September. I had a going away dinner at Mongolian Grill, and then we headed to Winks for some kareoke later on. Mongolian Grill has to be one of my favourite restaurants in the entire world. 20$ for all you can eat stirfry, is bad news bears for my beach bod. whatevesss. After Mongolian Grill we went back to the boys to start our evening. A pit stop at Eccles in Med Syd to visit my WONDERFUL AMAZING frosh occurred. Always a interesting evening when you party with Eccles. Thanks for making my 2nd year sophing the most amazing time ever. I could not ask for a better group of people to be surrounded with on a daily basis, and I will miss each and everyone of you girls and guys immensely. Jwoww will stay in contact for sure and I can’t wait to have group skype chats! After Eccles, I finally headed to Winks where I spent the majority of my evening. I love kareoke so so so much, and definately took advantage of it. I sang 3 songs, not well I must add. I recall it being more of yelling, then actually singing. Between the 4 hours of crying, where the people at the bar who didn’t know me and that I was leaving, I looked like a complete nutball. I had an amazing night, with the best group of friends I could of asked for. I can’t wait to reunite and have more evenings like that in September. 

Monday – Waking up to start my last day in Canada was really rough. It has been a rollercoaster of emotions for the last month. Feelings of apprehension, sadness, excitement, nervousness, fear of the unknown and many other emotions have come in in waves. Overall I know I just need to get to Singapore, to fully understand and realize what I have before me. I know leaving the people who I truely care so much about is what I am most upset about. I’m sad I am missing out on many things I would be partaking in in I stayed. However in the grand scheme of things I wouldn’t trade what I am going to do, with those events. 

Monday Night – After my last “spagel”, Pellerin, Abes, Nikki and myself headed to Toronto to spend the night in a hotel. Shortly after arriving in Toronto I had a mini-crisis. I had FORGOTTEN my laptop in London and it was 445pm. Fedex overnight shipping closed at 5, and I was leaving at noon on Tuesday! I can not thank Tina and Rachel enough for being the most amazing people in the world and driving it to me. I am speechless. I don’t understand how I deserve to have the best people as my friends. It shocked me with how willing they were to help me out 🙂 After the mini crisis was resolved, we went to the airport to pick up Andre 🙂 I was so excited to see him, as he had been away all christmas break. Next, we visited my mom in Mississauga for the last time, and then headed to Lakeshore for dinner at the Pumphouse. The remainder of the evening was spent with Bear 4 – 4. A little bit of football, some way back play back tunes and a few drinks (well only a sip for me, I need to detox) made for an amazing evening. I still can’t believe how amazing of a group of friends I have. They do so much for me, and sometimes I don’t know how to express how truely appreciative I am of them all. I was extremely overwhelmed and happy when they gave me a Build A Bear which was rockin’ some pretty sweet Canada gear. The bear’s name is “Woah.” It is so cute, I can’t wait to have something that will consistently remind me of Canada and the people who I have to look forward to come back to. 

Tuesday Morning – As I sit in the airport, wait to board (I board at 11ish), I look back at my last semester at Western. So much has changed, and I have loved every bit of it. I have strengthened some really amazing friendships that I know will last a lifetime, and I have formed new relationships with others. I wish everyone could come with me to experience what I will with me. I know that is not possible, but it gives me hope to know that those who truely matter, and those who I love the most will be there when I get back. I know these 6 months will fly by, so I just need to live it up. No looking back, only forward 🙂 I will stay in contact as much as I can, and I will bring back memories that will stay with me forever. As 11am strikes, I must say see you soon for now. I will miss everyone so much, but I will not say “goodbye.” Goodbye is the end of something to me, and this is only the beginning. All the best to everyone, and I can’t wait to embark on this trip of a lifetime.

That’s all for now, it’s go time.

Photo_on_12-01-10_at_11

One thought on “my last few days in canada

Leave a comment